book recommendations

Read

The Rose Code

Fans of WWII historical fiction, take note—The Rose Code by Kate Quinn is set on the British home front during WWII and follows three young women, who work at the highly-classified Bletchley Park. Read more about Read

Do you have a Float Plan?

Float Plan

Anyone who’s missed traveling will enjoy vicariously exploring the Caribbean through the pages of this novel. Float Plan’s heroine, Anna, struggled with grief since the death of her fiancé and desperately needs a change.

She sets out alone on the sailing trip through the Caribbean, which the two of them had planned to do together. After swiftly realizing she’s ill-equipped to do the entire trip on her own, she takes on a crew member, who’s journeyed through his own loss. Read more about Do you have a Float Plan?

Speaking of words …

reading Caste, by Isabel Wilkerson

Do you have a favorite quote from a book? Are there words that you can read over and over and still find fresh layers of meaning? Recently, I found myself drawn back to words written by E. B. White (Charlotte’s Web and Stuart Little). Don’t discount children’s literature! There is a lot of wisdom in White’s books. My favorite authors tend to change with whatever season of life I am experiencing.  Read more about Speaking of words …

The Husband’s Secret

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

In honor of this month’s “Best of” theme, this book is one of the best breakout novels of the last decade. Breakout usually refers to a book from an author who’s been publishing for years that finally hits it big.

Liane Moriarty had been publishing for nine years when The Husband’s Secret was released in 2013. And, while her next novel, Big Little Lies, was the first to make it onscreen, The Husband’s Secret is the one that put her on the map in a new way. Read more about The Husband’s Secret

This Heartfelt Novel has Just the Right Amount of Drama

Natalie Jenner’s debut novel, The Jane Austen Society

Natalie Jenner’s debut novel, The Jane Austen Society, is a perfect, heartwarming read-alike for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society book or movie, as well as fans of Jane Austen or historical fiction in general.

Set in post-WWII England, the charming setting of this novel is the village of Chawton, Austen’s final home. Readers meet a small group of endearing characters, all healing from wounds of the past and the impacts of WWII, who come together to preserve Austen’s home as a historical site. Read more about This Heartfelt Novel has Just the Right Amount of Drama

Silent Stories

Abandoned North Dakota

For those who appreciate and are curious about churches, homes, schools and the like that are no longer occupied, they understand that, while those spots are termed “abandoned,” they remain full of stories told and muted, hopes lived and forgone and a silence that speaks only to those willing to turn a keen eye toward what remains. Read more about Silent Stories

Are you in the mood for a Big Summer?

For over a decade, Jennifer Weiner has been a go-to author for contemporary fiction that centers around women, and her latest, Big Summer, makes for a great summer or beach read.

As this story begins, it appears to head in one direction but takes an unexpected turn and continues to develop in ways that will keep readers guessing. Weiner’s heroine is Daphne Berg, a plus-size Instagrammer with a growing platform, who is reunited with an old frenemy and invited to participate in her paparazzi-worthy Cape Cod wedding. Read more about Are you in the mood for a Big Summer?

Read Across America

reading in the library

The National Education Association (NEA) celebrates Read Across America Day on March 2. The event is designed to help motivate kids to read, promote the joys of reading to students of all ages, and make all children feel valued and welcome.

The titles featured by NEA’s Read Across America Day include books that students can see themselves represented in, as well as open readers’ eyes to see a character or world different from their own. The NEA also features monthly book picks through Read Across America. Read more about Read Across America

Subscribe to RSS - book recommendations