Arts & Culture

reading Caste, by Isabel Wilkerson

Do you have a favorite quote from a book? Are there words that you can read over and over and still find fresh layers of meaning? Recently, I found myself drawn back to words written by E. B. White (Charlotte’s Web and Stuart Little).

Angelina Amerigo

As the Miss Minnesota competition gears up for the week of June 20–26, there will be a familiar local face vying for the crown—Angelina Amerigo, 20 (otherwise known as Miss Heart of the Lakes).

painted brick on exterior of house

At this stage of the pandemic, a fair amount of homeowners have given the interiors of their homes a glow-up, a redo, a transformation—call it what you will. But all that effort begs the question—now what?

Johnathan McCastle

After a decade in the industry, professional barber Johnathan McCastle brings skills and experience to his Minnetonka shop, The Top Shave Lounge. Sure, there are the usual perks involved in a traditional shave or haircut experience.

Natalie Jenner’s debut novel, The Jane Austen Society

Natalie Jenner’s debut novel, The Jane Austen Society, is a perfect, heartwarming read-alike for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society book or movie, as well as fans of Jane Austen or historical fiction in general.

Burano by Peter Wong

Tucked away 40 miles north of Venice, Italy, is the quaint fishing island of Burano, known for its brightly colored painted homes. Legend has it that the homes were painted in bright hues to help the fishermen find their ways home when the lagoon was blanketed in fog.

Chad McShane, The eFoil

Lake Minnetonka provides year-around opportunities for great photos, and Chad McShane shared his perspective with The eFoil, which earned firs

Abandoned North Dakota

For those who appreciate and are curious about churches, homes, schools and the like that are no longer occupied, they understand that, while those spots are termed “abandoned,” they remain full of stories told and muted, hopes lived and forgone and a sil

Mary Catherine Solberg

The Art Girls Mpls. presents an exclusive collaborative collection by renowned artist Mary Catherine Solberg and internationally acclaimed photographer Giovanna Aryafara.

Boat reflected on lake water.

Reflections placed second in the Activities and Events category of our annual photo contest, Lens on Lake Minnetonka.

Ava Tellier strikes an impressive pose.

Inspiring young ballet dancers to achieve excellence through their technique and love of the art, WestMet Classical Training in Long Lake provides preprofessional guidance to students interested in pursuing a serious career in concert dance.

Pages