Arts & Culture

This popular icy golf fest (where sponsors decorate themed holes for, yep, golf on frozen Lake Minnetonka) returns next month to the lake. As always, visitors to the 2019 Chilly Open enjoyed beer, a chili cook-off, “snowga” and other activities.

Ari Koehnen Sweeny, director of education for the Hennepin Theatre Trust, stands in front of a stage.

Some people explore a life in the theater because they fall in love with a particular show. For others, it’s because they dream of applause. For Minnetonka native Ari Koehnen Sweeney, it was a family matter.

A sketch of the USS Minnesota on which both George and Frank Halstead served during the Civil War.

The lives of the Halsted brothers ended sadly near the Lake Minnetonka bay that bears their name.

Khruangbin's "Con Todo El Mundo"

"Con Todo El Mundo" is the perfect music for your chic cocktail hour and recommended for fans of Can, Portishead or Thundercat.

The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris

The Tattooist of Auschwitz, by Heather Morris, is a powerful novel based on the true story of Ludwig “Lale” Sokolov, who was imprisoned at Auschwitz and was conscripted to tattoo prisoner numbers onto the arms of his fellow Jews.

The Festivities showroom in Minnetonka hosted a monthly Twin Cities Wedding & Event Professionals venue spotlight. Event planners, florists, caterers and other industry pros gathered to network and learn about other local businesses and venues.

Hopkins welcomed new bookstore-taproom-coffee shop combo Cream & Amber at its grand opening celebration in February.

Katie Terhune and Kacey Hruby Wyttenhove, co-owners of Cream & Amber.

We’ve all seen suggested beer and food pairings, but how about beer and books?

A Minnetonka couple water skis in their wedding attire for their unique save-the-date photo.

A local couple puts a unique spin on their save-the-date photo.

Solar panels on a Lake Minnetonka home made and installed by All Energy Solar.

Despite its frigid reputation, Minnesota is actually a viable place to employ photovoltaic, solar energy technology.

Dolly Parton's soundtrack to the Netflix film "Dumplin'"

Dolly Parton continues to be force in both music and film, our columnist writes.

Pages